

SENATE MAJORITY OFFICE

Salem, Oregon Oregon State Legislature

PRESS RELEASE

November 14, 2020 CONTACT: Amanda.Kraus@OregonLegislature.gov Amanda Kraus, 503-986-1074

Senate Democrats Elect Leadership Team ahead of Historic 2021 Legislative Session

SALEM – Yesterday, the Oregon Senate Democrats held a caucus leadership election during a virtual meeting.

The leadership team will be made up of the following Senate Democrats:

- Senate President Designate: Senator Peter Courtney (D-Salem);
- Senate President Pro Tempore Designate: Senator James I Manning Jr. (D-Eugene);
- Senate Majority Leader: Senator Rob Wagner (D-Lake Oswego);
- Senate Deputy Majority Leader: Senator Elizabeth Steiner Hayward (D-Portland);
- Senate Majority Whip: Senator Lew Frederick (D-Portland);
- Senate Majority Whip: Senator Sara Gelser (D-Corvallis);
- Senate Assistant Majority Leader: Senator Michael Dembrow (D-Portland)
- Senate Assistant Majority Leader: Senator-elect Kate Lieber (D-Portland).

The Senate Democrats hold a majority in the Senate, as they have for more than a decade.

"The Oregon Senate Democrats have a legacy of success and our eyes on the future. I am thrilled to be at the helm of our caucus, and I am buoyed by the impressive experience and skills of this leadership team," said Senator Wagner (D-Lake Oswego) who has served as Majority Leader since May 2020. "Oregon is facing a pivotal time in history with great challenges ahead. I am confident in our ability to rebuild and repair our state as we overcome overlapping challenges and focus on improving the wellbeing of every Oregonian. We will continue the ongoing work to advance racial justice, provide for equitable opportunity for all to succeed and protect our climate for future generations. As we begin a Legislative Assembly like none we have experienced before, I am deeply humbled by the trust my colleagues have put in my and I look forward to working alongside them."

Senator Courtney—as the nominee for Senate President—and Senator James I. Manning Jr.—as the nominee for Senate President Pro Tempore—must be elected by a vote of the full Senate which will take place when they meet during Legislative Organizational Days.